Opening Ceremony and Awards

The opening ceremony of the XXXI OSTIV Congress was hold in the company of a beautiful Waco Biplane, a P51 Mustang, et al., as was made possible by Mark Huffstutler kindly allowing us the use of his hangar. After a brief introduction the President of OSTIV , Loek Boermans, made the following awards:

The OSTIV Prize and Morelli Awatd was presented to Josef Prasser, and a Special OSTIV Prize and Morelli Award to Hugh Browning. The OSTIV Diploma for the best technical paper to Francois Ragot for his paper, "Total Energy". The OSTIV Diploma for the best meteorological paper to Dr. Olivier Liechti, "Regionalized Predictions of Aligned Updrafts and their Tuning for Planning Soaring Flights".

The award presentations were followed by welcoming comments by Al Tyler, President of the Soaring Society of America, Ken Sorenson, championship director, and Hector Gonzales, President of Southwest Texas Junior College. These proceedings were followed by a social period of food, drink, and engaging conversation. The final event of the evening was the Keynote Lecture, "Developing a Tailored Safety Program for the U.S. Soaring Community", presented by Richard Carlson. His presentation was followed by a though-provoking question and discussion period.

Click on picture to enlarge